Latest News

Local News

Concerns for Year 7 Students in Regional Communities


Year 7 Students situated more than 20 kilometres from their nearest high school, may be eligible for a three-year transition period in an effort to assist locals in adjusting to the move.

With the state wide transitioning Year 7's to high school, South Australia schools, students and parents are preparing for the move which is set for 2022.

The South Australian Government has arranged for parents at selected primary schools, to apply for an exemption to keep their year 7 child in a primary school until 2024.

Education Minister John Gardner has stated “South Australia remains the only jurisdiction in the country that still has Year 7 in primary school, and we are ensuring that our students are no longer left behind their counterparts in other states.”

Eligible schools are as follows:

Andamooka PS, Auburn PS, Beachport PS, Blanchetown PS, Booborowie PS, Brinkworth PS, Bute PS, Cadell PS, Callington PS, Cambrai PS, Cobdogla PS, Coonalpyn PS, Frances PS, Geranium PS, Glencoe Central PS, Goolwa PS, Hamley Bridge PS, Jervois PS, Kalangadoo PS, Kingston-on-Murray PS, Kongorong PS, Koolunga PS, Koonibba Aboriginal School, Lake Wangary PS, Mallala PS, Moorook PS, Morgan PS, Mypolonga PS, Nangwarry PS, Padthaway PS, Penong PS, Pinnaroo PS, Port Neill PS, Port Wakefield PS, Rapid Bay PS, Robe PS, Robertstown PS, Snowtown PS, Spalding PS, Stansbury PS, Tailem Bend PS, Two Wells PS, Ungarra PS, Warooka PS, Wasleys PS, Wilmington PS

Image Source: Pexels